Mathematician George Luztig received the Wolf Award

George Luztig, a professor of mathematics at MIT, has been awarded the 2022 Wolf Prize in Mathematics for his work on geometric representation theory and algebra.

The Wolf Foundation, an Israeli-based think tank, praised American-Romanian mathematicians for their “contributions to representation theory and related fields.” Luzitig is known for his work on representation theory, particularly in areas closely related to algebraic groups such as the finite reciprocal groups, Heck Algebra, P-Adic groups, quantum groups, and wave groups.

Its contributions include determining the character table of limited receptive groups, developing quantum groups, and Hex algebraic canonical bases, and promoting general positive.

The Wolf Foundation says, “His work is known for its great originality, the vastness of its subject matter, its incredible technical virtues, and its intricacies.” Luzitig’s important contributions make him one of the greatest mathematicians of our time.

Lustig, who grew up in Romania, had a love for mathematics. He represented Romania in the eighth grade and competed in the International Mathematical Olympics, winning silver medals in 1962 and 1963.

A.D. From 1974 to 1977 he was a professor at Warwick University, and in 1978 he joined the MIT Faculty of Mathematics.

His work has helped to bring about a modern representation theory with basic new concepts, including the characteristic Shevs, the Deligne-Lusztig species and the Kazhdan-Lusztig polynomial.

Luzstig’s first discovery was with Pierre Delig in 1975. He came up with the construction of the Deligne-Luzstig delegation. In the completed field, the reduction groups have received a full description of the non-deductible representations.

The Wolf Foundation “The description of the Luztig character chart is considered to be one of the greatest achievements of the 20th century. To accomplish this, he developed a number of techniques that are now used by hundreds of mathematicians.

Such methods include the use of étale cohomology; The role played by two groups; The use of interference cohomology, and the following behavioral theory concept, almost all of the characters, and the constant forger change.

A.D. In 1979, David Kazdan and Luzigig, a coxtail group, described Kazhdan-Lusztig as the basis of Heck algebra. The Kazhdan-Lusztig hypothesis led directly to the Baileson-Bernstein translation theory, which, four decades later, remains a powerful tool for understanding the representation of the convertible Lie algebras. Lusztig’s work with MIT professor David Vogan continued the development of the Kazhdan-Lusztig algorithm for the production of Lusztig-Vogan polynomial. These polynomials are said to be fundamental to the understanding of true subtraction groups and their unitary representations.

A.D. In the 1990s, Luztig contributed to the concept of quantum groups. Its contributions include the promotion of the canonical foundation; Introducing the Luzitig Form (allows differentiation under unity and linking to modular representations); Quantum Frobenius and a small quantum group; And relationships with oral representation theory. Luzitig’s canonical foundation theory (and the Masaki Kashiwara parallel crystal foundations theory) have produced profound results. Recent Improvement Representation Theory and Low-Dimensional Topology are linked in a “Category” to the Lostver Geometric Category Quantum Bundles on the Quiver Module.

A.D. Appointed Norbert Wineer Professor of MIT from 1999 to 2009 and is currently Professor Abdur-Nur. A.D. In 2014, Luztig won the 2014 Shaw Award in Mathematics. George Luzig used a significant portion of this award to help him establish advisors to PRIMES consultants.

Other prizes and awards include the London Society Society’s Burwick Award, the Algebra AMS Cole Award, the Dutch Math Society Brewer Medal and the AMS Leroy P. Steele Lifetime Achievement Award. Luzitig is a Fellow of the Royal Society, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a member of the National Academy of Sciences.

Each field includes a Wolf Award certificate and a $ 100,000 cash prize. The award Luzitig was one of 345 scientists and artists who received the award in 1978 for their achievements in “the benefit of mankind and the friendship between peoples.” , And architecture. Michael Artin, a MIT professor of mathematics, also received the Wolf Award in 2013.


Leave a Comment